Danny Wahlquist Wordpress Blog

September 8, 2013

The Trust Brand no longer Verizon for me

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , — dannywahlquist @ 8:07 pm

I recently upgraded my cell phone and got a new Motorola Droid Maxx. I love it and have been enjoying the features, speed and battery life. About 9 days later I received a Data Usage Alert from Verizon Wireless that I had used 50% of my prorated data allowance for the month. Imagine my surprise when I thought I had an unlimited data plan! I contacted Verizon Wireless and had a chat with Donna who informed me that when I upgraded I lost my unlimited data plan and would have to return the phone soon to get it back.

As I have been thinking about alternatives like getting a reconditioned phone, etc., I have been sad and disappointed. As much as I love the Droid Maxx, I don’t think giving it up is the source of my sadness. This week I also have been thinking about a recent post by Seth Godin called The trust brand (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2013/09/the-trust-brand.html#!). He ends the post with “If I’ve come to know you and trust you and then you turn your back on me, abandon me and make me feel like a fool for trusting you, I won’t be back any time soon.” I realized that must be the source of my sadness after having Verizon for my home phone, FIOS TV & Internet and wireless services for longer than I can remember.

Have you ever had a trusted brand let you down?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

