Danny Wahlquist Wordpress Blog

March 14, 2013

Feedly: My Google Reader Alternative – WP Daily

Filed under: SocialMedia — dannywahlquist @ 9:18 am

Home/Apps/Feedly: My Google Reader Alternative

FEEDLY: MY GOOGLE READER ALTERNATIVE

John Saddington —  March 14, 2013 — 10 Comments

As many of you know now Google Reader has hit the dead pool and will no longer be in service July 1st. I am sad and incredibly upset at this news, even though I had been expecting that the day would come, namely because it’s become an intimate part of my overall workflow.

So much so that when I heard that it was coming I started shaking in anger – the mere thought of having to transition from an application that I’ve used since 2007 and have religiously used every single day is more than I can bear.

I won’t spend anytime discussing my thoughts on Google’s move here because it wouldn’t be worth my time, but I am disappointed. Very disappointed.

Part of my job as an entrepreneur is to stay in the know, as best as I can, with new trends and technology. It’s simply for my amusement as well as a daily source of inspiration – it’s a part of my digital life and it’s like an arm has been cut off.

Much bigger is my responsibility to this growing news and editorial blog here at WP Daily – Google Reader has been an essential part. In fact, I couldn’t do my job without it.

Ouch.

This.

One of the biggest reasons I’m so anxious about the change is because the application works so well with the other uncompromisable application that I use daily – email. I just yesterday wrote about my simple workflow.

It works so well from one simple functional reason: Shortcut keys. I’m so fast when it comes to my email via shortcuts that it’s awesome. I can work through emails without every touching my touchpad or a mouse. It’s almost blinding. I love the challenge and finesse it takes to make shortcuts work – most programmers do this instinctively as well.

Google Reader shared these shortcuts – the same keys for very similar or exactly the same function. This way I didn’t have to switch my brain or calibrate my motor functions to “just work” because it just did.

Now, I have to find another application that not only has the fluidity of Google Reader and my long-standing workflow but also has robust shortcuts. The order was tall, but I think I found a decent solution to tide me over.

Feedly:

Feedly might be my temporary savior. It not only has Google Reader synchronization (and import) but it has shortcut keys that mirror Google Reader.

via Feedly: My Google Reader Alternative – WP Daily.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

