Danny Wahlquist Wordpress Blog

August 9, 2012

Congratulations to Allyson Felix! | the Cripplegate

Filed under: Uncategorized — dannywahlquist @ 3:55 pm

Paul’s influence on Allyson shines through in the testimony she gives during media interviews.

As she explained to Sports Illustrated:

My running is a gift from God; My success is not of myself. I know that my actions on and off the track should be a reflection of God, because people watch what you do and what you say. My father taught me that.

An article in the Baptist Press quoted her with these words:

My faith is definitely the most important aspect of my life. My dad is a pastor and I grew up in a very strong Christian home. Our family was very involved in our church. I came to know Jesus Christ as my personal savior at a very young age. Ever since then, I have continually been striving to grow in my relationship with God.

She recently told USA Today:

Growing up as a preacher’s kid has really grounded me. I’ve grown up with these amazing parents who are hard workers, and they truly live out their faith. They’ve been amazing role models for me. I feel like I really picked up on what they taught me and kept that with me all along in my running and in my career.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

